HH Romapada Swami in Vrindavan 2009
September 28, 2009

Srila Bhaktivinoda Thakura explains that carelessness, particularly in the matter of chanting, is a big problem. Even if all of the other offenses in chanting are successfully removed, if one cannot overcome this carelessness or inattentiveness when chanting, one will not get a taste or attachment for the Holy Name.

On the enthusiastic appeal of Srila Bhaktivinoda Thakura, please be very, very attentive when you do your chanting. Then there will be taste for chanting. When that taste is there, one can easily go back home, back to Godhead. Chanting is the most important of all of our activities in devotion. So one should chant attentively and very carefully. If you care for the object of your devotion, then you will chant full of care, or carefully.

HH Romapada Swami in Boston Apr 2009
May 28, 2012

We should be very careful of making offenses, because they form a cloud of anarthas in the heart. Then, even when trying in our devotional practices we don’t experience the desired progress in our Krsna consciousness. Rather, we experience complacency, slackness, pride, and diminishing interest in the hearing and chanting process. It becomes a struggle, an ordeal, and so on. We experience no taste, but increased attraction and attachment for things that block our spiritual progress. So, one should be very careful, especially when engaged in the primary activities of hearing Srimad-Bhagavatam, worshiping the Deity, chanting the holy name, serving the devotees of the Lord, and residing in a sacred place. Be very careful of offenses.

HH Romapada Swami in Hyderabad 2009
September 14, 2009

In the matter of devotion to the Supreme Lord, faith is the primary component that must be there. In all the scriptures, blind faith is not respected. But faith that is supported by proper understanding of scriptural knowledge is very essential. Srila Bhaktivinoda Thakura says that sraddha, or faith, is the only rule for those who are established in the level of bhakti, or devotion. So, our acaryas have analyzed that the nine stages of bhakti -- from the very beginning stage of sraddha to the highest stage of prema -- are nothing but transformations of different stages of faith.